Permissions for checklist

Issue Checklist Free users can see/edit the checklist if they can see/edit the issue. 

By default, Issue Checklist Pro users can see/edit the checklist if they can see/edit the issue. 

Issue Checklist Pro users can enable custom permissions to control who can view/add/edit/toggle/delete checklist items. Custom permissions are not available in Issue Checklist Freesee comparison.

Permissions

Following permissions are required to view or modify the checklist:

View checklist


Permission required to view checklist
View Checklist custom permission disabled (Issue Checklist Free, Issue Checklist Pro default settings)

Classic project: "Browse Projects"

Next-Gen project: "Viewer" or higher role

View Checklist custom permission enabled (Issue Checklist Pro)"View Checklist"

Work on checklist (add/edit/toggle/delete)


Permission required to
Add checklist item

Permission required to Edit checklist itemPermission required to 
Toggle
checklist item
Permission required to 
Delete
checklist item
Custom permission disabled  (Issue Checklist Free, Issue Checklist Pro default settings)

Classic: "Edit Issues"

Next-Gen: "Member" or higher 

Classic: "Edit Issues"

Next-Gen: "Member" or higher 

Classic: "Edit Issues"

Next-Gen: "Member" or higher 

Classic: "Edit Issues"

Next-Gen: "Member" or higher 

Custom permission enabled (Issue Checklist Pro)"Add Checklist Items""Edit Checklist Items""Toggle Checklist Items""Delete Checklist Items"

Details

Custom "View Checklist" permission

It is possible to control who can see the checklist and checklist history. If the "View Checklist" option is enabled, the Jira administrator can hide a checklist for some users who can still access and see the issue. 

Custom View Checklist permission can be enabled on the Issue Checklist Permissions configuration page. 

Read-only mode

If a user is allowed to view the checklist but not edit it, the checklist will be displayed in read-only mode: all items will be visible but it won't be possible for the user to make any changes.

Assigned checklist items page

Even if View Checklist custom permission is in use and the user doesn't have this permission, he/she can still see assigned checklist items on Assigned checklist items page.

Custom work on checklist permissions (add/edit/toggle/delete)

It is possible to separate Edit Issues from Add/Edit/Toggle/Delete Checklist permissions. If the custom work on checklist permissions toggle is enabled, Jira administrator can allow users without Edit Issues permission to work with the checklist (add, edit, toggle, delete checklist items) or block users with Edit Issue permission from editing the checklist.
It is also possible to give the user toggle checklist items permission, but not edit or delete permission.

Custom Add/Edit/Toggle/Delete Checklist permission can be enabled on the Issue Checklist Permissions configuration page. 

If the custom work on checklist permissions toggle is enabled then Checklist Content YAML or Checklist Text custom fields must not be present on the Issue Edit and Issue Create screens. If the custom fields are present on the Issue Edit and Issue Create screens, then the user can still modify the checklist by modifying Checklist Content YAML or Checklist Text custom fields through edit issue operation. 

To avoid the above, please make sure that Checklist Content YAML and Checklist Text custom fields are not present on Create Issue or Edit Issue screens.

Issue Checklist does not require Checklist Content YAML or Checklist Text fields to be present on any screen to function properly.

Add Checklist Items

Users given the Add Checklist Items permission can:

  • Add items
  • Add checklists
  • Load template in "append" mode ("overwrite" option requires both Add Checklist Items and Delete Checklist Items permissions)
  • Save checklist as a template

Edit Checklist Items

Users given the Edit Checklist Items permission can:

  • Change item summary
  • Change item description
  • Reorder items
  • Edit checklist name

Toggle Checklist Items

Users given the Toggle Checklist Items permission can:

  • Toggle items (complete/uncomplete)
  • Toggle/Change item status

Delete Checklist Items

Users given the Delete Checklist Items permission can:

  • Delete items
  • Delete checklists
  • Load template in "overwrite" mode (this option requires also Add Checklist Items permission)


To access checklist Editor, the user must be granted all permissions (Add, Edit, Toggle, Delete).