Configure Permissions

By default, users who can view/edit the issue can view/edit the checklist. However, in Checklist for Jira Pro, you can configure custom checklist permissions that are independent of issue permissions.

Checklist Permissions

  • In Issue Checklist Free, users can see/edit the checklist if they can see/edit the issue.

  • This is also the default for Issue Checklist Pro. However, in Issue Checklist Pro, you can customize permissions to control who can  view/add/edit/toggle/delete checklist items.

Understanding the Custom Work on Checklist Permission

The custom Work one Checklist permission can be used to control who can add, edit, toggle and delete checklists regardless of whether or not a user has Edit issue permissions. Users with these permissions can:

Add Checklist Items Permission

Edit Checklist Items Permission

Toggle Checklist Items Permission

Delete Checklist Items Permission

Add Checklist Items Permission

Edit Checklist Items Permission

Toggle Checklist Items Permission

Delete Checklist Items Permission

  • Add items

  • Add checklists

  • Load template in Append mode

  • Save checklist as a template

  • Change item summary

  • Change item description

  • Reorder items

  • Edit checklist name

  • Toggle items (complete / incomplete)

  • Change item status

  • Delete items

  • Delete checklists

  • *Load template in Overwrite mode

*Loading templates in Overwrite mode requires both Add Checklist Item permission and Delete Checklist Item permission.

 

Note that to access the checklist Editor, the user must be granted all of the permissions (Add, Edit, Toggle, Delete).

 

Global View Checklist Permission

Permission

required to
Add checklist item

Permission required to

Edit checklist item

Permission

required to 
Toggle

checklist item

Permission

required to 
Delete

checklist item

Global View Checklist Permission

Permission

required to
Add checklist item

Permission required to

Edit checklist item

Permission

required to 
Toggle

checklist item

Permission

required to 
Delete

checklist item

Enabled

Add Checklist Items

Edit Checklist Items

Toggle Checklist Items

Delete Checklist Items

**Disabled

Company-managed / Classic projects:

Edit Issues

Edit Issues

Edit Issues

Edit Issues

**Disabled

Team-managed / Next-gen projects

Member or higher 

Member or higher 

Member or higher 

Member or higher 

**Disabled is the only option for Issue Checklist Free, and the default option for Issue Checklist Pro.

 

For checklists to function properly, if the custom Work on checklist permission is enabled then the Checklist Text custom field must not be present on the Issue Edit and Issue Create screens.

Using Custom Work on Checklist Permissions

To enable Checklist custom permissions, log in as a Jira administrator and go to Jira Settings > Apps and select Permissions under the Checklist for Jira heading. Use the toggle to enable custom permissions for who can work on checklists.

This will render all checklists read-only until Project permissions have been configured.


For Company-managed/Classic Projects

For Team-managed/Next-gen Projects

Understanding the Custom View Checklist Permission

The custom View Checklist permission can be used to control who can see checklist and the checklist history. This configuration allows you to hide the checklist for users who still have access to the issue.

If a user is allowed to view the checklist but not edit it, the checklist will be displayed in read-only mode: all items will be visible but it won't be possible for the user to make any changes.

If the Save checklist data to Jira custom fields setting is enabled and the Checklist Text field is included on Jira screens, then the checklist content will be visible to users regardless of whether or not they have permission to view the list.

Global View Checklist Permission

Permission Required to View Checklist

Global View Checklist Permission

Permission Required to View Checklist

Enabled

View Checklist

Disabled

This is the only option for Issue Checklist Free, and the default option for Issue Checklist Pro.

  • Company-managed / Classic projects: Browse Projects

  • Team-managed / Next-gen projects: Viewer or higher role.

 

If the View Checklist custom permission is in use, and a user does not have this permission, he/she can still see assigned checklist items on Assigned checklist items page.

Using the Custom View Checklist Permission

To enable custom View Checklist permissions, log in as a Jira administrator and go to Jira Settings > Apps and select Permissions under the Checklist for Jira heading. Use the toggle to enable custom permissions for who can view checklists.

This will render the checklists invisible until Project permissions have been configured.

For Company-managed/Classic Projects

 

For Team-managed/Next-gen Projects

 

Limit Ability to View/Edit Checklists to Assignee

This can only be done with Company-managed (Classic) projects. Team-managed (Next-gen) projects do not currently support permissions for dynamic fields.

To allow only the assignee to view and/or work on checklists:

  1. Log in as a Jira administrator and go to Jira Settings > Apps and select Permissions under the Checklist for Jira heading. Use the toggles to enable the custom Work on checklist and the custom View Checklist permissions.

  2. After enabling the toggle, navigate to Project Settings > Permissions. Click Edit Permissions under the Actions menu.

  3. Navigate to the appropriate permission and click Edit.

  4. Click Show more on the Grant permissions popup.

  5. Select Current Assignee and click Grant. Note that may also want to grant permission to the Reporter, Project lead, etc.

  6. Remove permission from any Groups or Roles who should not be able to make changes to the checklist.


Template Permissions